Top Rated Product

Product Reviews

Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner

FACE SECRETS PRO BRUSH CLEANER
Average Customer Rating:
4.158 out of 5
4.2
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (19 reviews)
5 stars
11
4 stars
4
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 star
2
17 of 19(89%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Review 1 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
MrsLisa
Great Product
Date:January 2, 2014
Cons: larger economy bottle option
"I love this product, but hard to find in our stores. Everyone must be like me and buys 2 bottles at a time. I clean my brushes every Sunday and lay the brushes flat and they dry over night. If I miss a cleaning day my skin shows the signs. I have been using this product for over a year."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AmandaJane
Great Cleaner
Date:June 6, 2013
Pros: easy to use, smells nice, effective
Cons: small for the price
"I have never used a make up brush cleaner before. This stuff was amazing. It cleaned my brushes well and left them with a nice smell. Bottle is a little small for the price, though."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 3 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
BeachGardener
Location: Arizona
It works
Date:February 27, 2013
"This cleanses brushes well, but be careful not to soak brushes in it. It removes the glue so it can makes the bristles fall out. I put this in a little jar from parian spirit and I swoosh my brushes in it, rinse them thoroughly with water, and dry them with a salon towel. My biggest problem with this is it comes only in a 4 oz. bottle and I'm lucky if I get two washes out of it. I like to buy brush removers by the gallon, or at least 16 - 32 oz. I had received Face Secrets free with an order, otherwise I doubt I'll buy such a tiny bottle."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
ValaChase
Location: BC Canada
Never Again
Date:October 11, 2012
"I bought a bottle of this brush cleanser on a recommendation from an employee at Sally. I followed the instructions to a T (I previously made my own cleanser but thought this might be easier) This is a big regret on my part I always lay my brushes across a towel to dry. After using this cleanser I when back to find my bristles had melted not just the cheaper brushes but all my synthetic brushes even the higher end ones. I will never purchase this product again. :("
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
Gizmolover
Norfolk, VA
Used incorrectly
Posted November 2, 2013
This type of brush cleaner is designed for quick spot cleaning. Brushes SHOULD NOT be immersed in the product. The best way to use this cleaner is to pour it into a spray bottle, spray the dirty brush bristles and immediately scrub the bristles clean on a tissue or towel.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 5 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Cheeks
Location: maine
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
stinks
Date:October 10, 2011
Pros: cheap
Cons: smells bad
"The product works fine but I just cannot get past the smell of it. It smells like nail polish remover to me. And the scent stays on my brushes even after rinsing them off."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Honeybeemee
Location: Atlanta, GA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Makeup Brush Cleaner
Date:July 27, 2011
Pros: great product
Cons: availability--nada
"I love this brush cleaner, but usually cannot find it at the Sally stores near me. I was told that the distribution was not sending it to the stores or if they did the store would only get one!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
hijklmnop
Boise ID
what?
Posted June 1, 2012
That sounds like the managers fault. I have been a manager at Sallys Beauty Supply and they can send in an order to get more then one. If the wearhouse was out that a different story, but once the warehouse get more then they could have sent in an order for more.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 7 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mk4u
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Effective but expensive
Date:March 21, 2011
"I have heard great things about this cleaner, so decided to give it a try. It worked very well, even on my much older brushes. However, I used quite a bit to get the larger brushes clean. It would be helpful if there were a larger economy size."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
RoyalMommy
Location: Houston, TX
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Overall the product does what it advertises
Date:March 15, 2011
Pros: inexpensive, cleans very quickly
Cons: small bottle, the blue color stains my white brushes, takes too long to dry
"It definitely cleans my brushes quickly. I don't like the fact that it's blue. It stains my white haired brushes. It also takes a while to dry. As a make-up artist this is a problem for me if I'm working with multiple clients. It also has a strong alcohol smell that I'm not use to. It's not sickening or anything but it's very strong. However, it's cheaper than the MAC and Clinique brush cleansers that I usually use. I just have to use other brushes and clean all of them after I finish instead of spot cleaning throughout the gig. I do wish that it came in a bigger size."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Arie
Location: Springfield, MO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Yeah, it's pricey
Date:January 6, 2011
"It works well though. I'm still going to have to do a deep cleaning of my brushes every so often, but this cleaner really did a great job whipping some of my older brushes into shape. If it wasn't for this product they were destined for the trash."
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
paintedlady
Location: ky
expensive
Date:May 20, 2010
Pros: soft bristles
Cons: expensive, tiny bottle
"i bought a whole set of make up brushes at sally's. make up brushes aren't cheap and i really wanted to take good care of this set so that it would last me a long time. the product works very well at cleaning and conditioning the brushes. only one big draw back for me, it's a small bottle and at $5 a bottle when it takes the whole bottle to clean my whole set. i consider that a bit pricey when you consider i use the brushes everyday and the recommended cleaning schedule for make up brushes is about every three weeks. the best way i found to completely clean my brushes regularly and condition them is to make a solution of water and the ion clarifying shampoo. swish my brushes around in it until clean, rinse them well, towel dry them and then use the brush cleaner as directed. this way my brushes are still a bit wet and won't absorb so much of the cleaner so that maybe it will last a month or two. with this bottle you can dip a deluxe brush and a blusher brush in it, and poof half the bottle is gone already!"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
outrageasaur
Location: IL
Pretty good stuff
Date:April 6, 2010
"I was sad that the bottle is much smaller in person, haha that will teach me to read how many ounces it is!
Other than that this was a good product. It has alcohol to sterilize and various dry-feeling oils to condition both synthetic and natural brushes.
I was a little skeptical because there wasn't much makeup in the bowl I used to clean them and none at all on the paper towel I used to wipe them on. My white brushes were still colored from lipstick and eyeshadow. I didn't feel like they were thoroughly clean at first and I used a good amount of the bottle to clean my set.
After they dried I checked them out again and they are definitely clean and silky soft. The white brushes are still colored but I can tell they are as clean as they are going to get.
Make sure you don't hold the brush upside down or fully submerse it, just swirl gently and wipe off. You can even just put a little on a tissue and wipe the brush on it in between thorough cleanings. It does the job! Buy it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kygirl
Location: Southwest Virginia
Wow!!!!
Date:February 5, 2010
"I have used soap and water to clean my brushes and wasn't convinced this would work. But Wow!!! My foundation brush was clean in a matter of seconds, dried quickly and it looks and feels brand new. I am in awe. This is wonderful. After the foundation brush, I cleaned all my other brushes with the same results. I love this and will definately buy again."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
COHairball
Location: Longmont, CO
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Impressed!
Date:January 27, 2010
"I was skeptical of a brush cleaner being better than using soap and water. I cleaned both natural and synthetic hair makeup brushes and was blown away by how quick it was to clean them and the fantastic results! It also dried really quickly...much faster than my old method. Awesome product!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
StarrLite
Location: St. Paul, MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Best I've Ever Used
Date:April 24, 2009
Pros: easy to use, unique product, sanitizes while conditioning, helps maintain original condition of brushes, brushes dry quickly, hypoallergenic
Cons: sells out quickly and often!!, should be sold in larger containers!
"I work as a cosmetics consultant at a store that sells both high-end and lower-end makeup and accessories. I work with a huge assortment of makeup brushes and have tried every brush cleaner we sell, the average cost of which is $14 for about 8 to 14 ounces. This Face Secrets brush cleaner is by far the BEST I have ever used. It's very easy to use, totally hypoallergenic, and thoroughly sanitizes the brushes while conditioning them (most cleaners do not kill bacteria or, if they do, dry out natural hair brushes to the point of breakage and shedding). Brushes dry quickly, are extrememly easy to reshape to their ORIGINAL shape, which they maintain, and are very shiny-- better than new. This is the only cleaner I use on my personal brushes and I recommend this product to friends and coworkers. I wash all my brushes at once roughly every 3 weeks to avoid breakouts and one bottle lasts me about 2 1/2 months. For this reason and the high quality of the product I think this is an excellent price and value, especially compared to other cleaners. (FYI, I once tried the baby-shampoo-and-water technique after hearing it so ofter from customers. I was appalled at the condition of my brushes! They were greasy, frayed, and definately NOT thoroughly clean. Why do people do this?? Would you wash your clothes with baby shampoo? Put cooking oil in your car engine? If you spend good $$ on something, take care of it. Luckily, I immediatly cleaned them with the Face Secrets cleaner which restored them completely. Another testament to the product!)"
8 of 8 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Linda
Location: WV
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Better than new?
Date:March 8, 2009
Pros: cleans all makeup off the brushes, makeup goes on better, doesn't make me breakout
Cons: a little pricey for what you get
"I've been using Face Secret Brush Cleaner for more than a year.
I've invested quite a $$ in brushes (natural and synthetic) over the past decade or so. I need something more than baby shampoo to keep them clean. I discovered this gem of a cleaner and I have never had any problems with shedding or hairs seperating, and there's no reaction on my skin. I love this stuff!
I had noticed that the cleaner used to have a vanilla scent, however the last two bottles have had no scent at all. I can live with that just as long as it keeps my brushes clean so they can work miricles on my face each morning. :)
Also, as the previous review stated, you get very little for what you pay for. And I agree about a bigger container. Would love to see it in gallon jugs!"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
AnitaB
Location: Boulder City, Nevada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great Stuff!
Date:March 5, 2009
Pros: easy to use, pleasant smell, brushes dry fast, great for daily use
Cons: a little pricey for such a tiny bottle, i need larger sizes like 1/2 gal or 1 gal
"First time using this cleaner and I am pleased with the results."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
sexii
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
great brush cleaner
Date:November 19, 2008
Cons: wish there was more product
"i agree this product cleaned my MAC brushes well..even in better condition than b4..nice n shiny..."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
ACG104
Location: NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great great product!
Date:November 9, 2008
"This is the best brush cleaner ever. I recently purchased cleaner from Sephora at the mall, and i broke out. This is the ONLY cleaner i will ever use. I never have had any problems with this product."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Face Secrets Professional Makeup Brush Cleaner
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
KJ73
Location: Maine
Great Make-up brush cleaner!
Date:September 13, 2008
"I am so happy I found this make-up brush cleaner. Now my expensive bare minerals brushes have been saved and cleaned of all that build up.
The only tip I have is to rinse your brush out after cleansing.
The bottle does not say to rinse. But you need to, to get all the dirt and cleaner out of the bristles.
Squeeze gently to remove excess water, Air dry over night, fluff and mine were just like new...
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.