Product Reviews

Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber

UNRED HAIRCOLOR ADDITIVE
Average Customer Rating:
3.823 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (34 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
25 of 34(74%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Questions & Answers:
1 Question | 0 Answers
Customer Reviews for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Review 21 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MrsWWP
Location: California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Barely worked
Date:April 19, 2011
"First do not be shocked by the color. It will turn your hair color black but that is not your color results.
I was adjusting brown hair that had some red/orange in it. This did very little to take out the red even when used with an ash."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 22 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meko1877
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
My hero!
Date:April 13, 2011
"Its been about a year since i had blonde hair, and the warmer weather convinced me to go back. I first went blonde almost by accident, so i didnt remember how i did it.
So, bleach, here i come. I used Prism Lights (Violet), let it process for about 45 minutes, then rinsed it out. My hair was a neon pumpkin-orange! I applied the dye i had bought, Ion Color Brilliance High Lift Blondes in a level 9 or 10 golden blonde with a 40 volume developer for about another 45 minutes. Still, pumpkin orange hair emerged.
I was completely embarassed to go to work the next day, so i read up on some reviews and decided to buy the Ardell Red Gold Corrector, Ardell Lock in Blonde, and Kaleidocolors (violet).
I bleached my hair again, mixing in 2 packages of the Ardell Red Gold Corrector and followed the directions on the Kaleidocolors package in fear that my damaged hair would fall out and only kept it in my hair for about 10 minutes. When i was rinsing my hair, i even poured a package of the Ardell Red Gold Corrector on my hair, worked it through, and let it sit for about 5 minutes.
I got out of the shower, and nothing. Same pumpkin orange hair. I tried the Lock in Blonde in some shampoo and let it sit. Nothing. I mixed a package of Ardell Red Gold Corrector in with a hair masque/leave in conditioner and let it sit in my hair for 10 minutes. Rinsed, and saw no change.
So, i hung my head and went to work looking ridiculous. Luckilly, in an arcade, not many people notice weird hair colors.
The next morning, i called out of my waitressing job due to my humiliation and determination to fix my hair.
So, i made another trip to Sallys and picked up a package of Ardell Unred, and Ion Color Brilliance permanent hair color in 9A (very light ash blonde) after reading for hours on how ash counteracts the orange.
On my last and final attempt, i mixed the two tubes of color with a 20 volume developer (i used 20 instead of 40 so as not to further damage my hair), mixed in the Ardell Unred, and went to town. I left it on my hair for 45 minutes, the max time on the instructions for the hair color, and when i rinsed, i could tell immediately that my hair was a lot less orange.
When my hair dried, it was a very faint reddish blonde color which i absolutely adore!
If i would have used the 40 volume with the 9A color, im sure there would be no red whatsoever in my hair, but this way the red is not embarrassing (even pretty cute), fixable, and my hair isnt totally fried. Just a little :P
I will start using ShimmerLights or something similar to further reduce the red tone, but Ardell Unred is a lifesaver! It reduced 95% of the orange/red that was overtaking my hair and got me that much closer to the pale blonde i dream of!
I will always use this when going blonde!
Thank you, Ardell, for Unred!
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 23 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
GrawrFace
Location: Wisconsin
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
I love it!
Date:March 9, 2011
Pros: works!
Cons: color scares you
"I LOVE THIS STUFF. I was kind of iffy on buying it, but everything turned out well. It takes all the red out of my hair, and it doesn't come back :). The only thing that scared me about it was the color. Amazing stuff, I would totally recommend it. :)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 24 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
animallover2011
Location: Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
becareful
Date:March 6, 2011
"It does what it claims but it will DARKEN your hair if you use all of it. I mixed it with my hair color and washed my hair after 20 minutes..I got a hair color 2 shades darker than usual ."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 25 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
kims
Location: wi
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great!
Date:June 1, 2010
"what i did was mix one packet with the hair color wella 4n and it looks fine, my hair usually pulls red but not with this, this was the first time i had tried it but will do it each time i color"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 26 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Georgene
Location: Faribault MN
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Jury's out for me ...
Date:May 22, 2010
Pros: great price
Cons: didn't really kill the red for me
"Bought two packets. Used this product w/Clairol Perfect 10 Light Ash Brown. Could be due to my color selection or due to the fact that the Perfect 10 is a high-speed color. Left it on for 10 minutes. Roots are now a light reddish brown. Unhappy. Bought Nice N Easy Med. Ash Brown and plan to use the second packet w/Nice & Easy and keep the stuff on for 30 min. Anyone else have this issue? Willing to give it a second chance w/a non-high-speed color product."
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 27 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TNhands
Location: Decatur, AL
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
unred takes a little time
Date:April 8, 2010
Pros: it works
Cons: one must determine by trial and error timing
"Urged on by the other reviews on UNRED I decided to give it try by mixing it with conditioner. My hair is dry naturally curly and color treated, to a blonde mix. My natural color is medium to light brown mixing with gray. Extreme brassiness has come about from the blonding.
UNRED plus conditioner was applied and I left it on 6 minutes. The color was deep gray to black and I was nervous leaving it on for longer. I wish I had. While there is some improvement in the brassiness, I will leave UNRED on my hair for about 15 -- maybe 20 minutes on my next try.
"
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 28 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
hairforhire
Location: Greeneville, Tennesse
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent Product.
Date:April 5, 2010
Pros: works
"I bleached my hair using this hoping it would work and not leave a red tint. It took most of the burning and itching away from the harsh bleach and didn't leave my hair a brassy red color. I also used this on my sisters hair and she lifted her hair from black to blonde using it."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 29 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Kaylanikki
Location: Tampa, FL
Amazing product
Date:March 16, 2010
Pros: everything
"I love this stuff, I like to dye my hair a burgundy color but when I decide to go back to brown or blond it is so hard to get the red out. Just add one of these packs to your dye and the red is gone on the first try! Be ware that it is black tho, so when you mix it in your dye it might scare you, but believe me, it will not turn your hair black.
Also, if you ever forget to put it in your dye, like I do all the time you can just mix it with a deep conditioner let it sit and it works the same"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 30 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
epheme
Location: Richmond VA
Works, but I prefer red/gold corrector
Date:October 12, 2009
"I'd say this is better if you are not striving for a very light result (level 8-12). It doesn't counteract the specific pigments so much as just drab everything down. I guess this has green to counteract the red, not just blue/violet. Hard to explain but I didn't get the result I was looking for although I can see how it would be useful for darker hair."
1 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 31 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
lilt423
Location: tn
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
great stuff
Date:September 29, 2009
"i had a red tint to my hair due to a bad dye job.i colored it brown and it still had a tint.i read somewhere online to mix this stuff in with your conditioner and let it sit,so i tried it and it did a nice job darkening my hair and almost took all the red out.one more and it should be good.i dont suggest you use it in your conditioner because i couldnt get it to rinse out good and while i was blow drying it stained my fingers which came off with a little scrubbing.but great product will use again and every time i color."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 32 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
colorqueen
Location: CT
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
wow!
Date:July 3, 2009
Pros: 10 out of 10
Cons: color of contents when added to dye freaked me out
"what an amazing product!
after a drugstore boxed color kit caused an unwanted red-effect in my hair- i went to sally desperate to fix. it was recommended for me to use this product- and what an incredible result! completely exceeded my expectations. awesome value. lifesaver of a product.
"
2 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 33 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
SoulFlower
Location: Newcastle. CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Life Saver!
Date:April 23, 2009
Pros: works wonderfully
Cons: hard to get drops out of the bottle
"It does what it says, it works with ANY hair color, and you can even add it to shampoo and it still works great. I will always use Unred"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 34 for Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Rainbow
Location: Santa Clara, CA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Amazing as long as you don't use too much
Date:February 23, 2009
"This product is a life saver. When my head turns into a pumpkin from using bleaches and color removers, I add a dash of this to my ash-base hair dye and voila! No more pumpkin. Beware though; if you add too much to your dye it will darken the color. You also need to be careful when adding it because it is usually quite thick and creamy. But as long as you're careful, you will love UNRED."
4 of 4 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
<<prev 1 2