Product Reviews

Unred Hair Color Drabber

Ardell Unred Hair Color Drabber locks in color and holds it for less fading and oxidation.
Average Customer Rating:
3.818 out of 5
3.8
 out of 
5
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating Snapshot (33 reviews)
5 stars
16
4 stars
6
3 stars
4
2 stars
3
1 star
4
24 of 33(73%)customers would recommend this product to a friend.
Customer Reviews for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Review 1 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
TamiJo
Location: Concord, NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Worked Somewhat
Date:November 21, 2013
Pros: easy to use
Cons: not for lots of red
"I have LOTS of red in my hair any time I try to lighten it, so it's a big job to tone down the red. This did tone the orange/red down some, but didn't completely get rid of it. If you have just slight brassiness, this would probably do the trick. I think I just have to quit trying to lighten my hair. It's just not meant to be."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 2 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Saraa
didn't do anything
Date:January 13, 2013
Cons: doesnt work
"I had stripped my hair and I ended up with a light brown color with a lot of orange/copper tones. It looked awful, but I was expecting that. So, then I decided to dye my hair with Ion Color Brilliance 8n and 20v developer. That did nothing. My hair did not lighten at all. I was still left with copper ugly orange hair. So, I decided to try this to get the orange tones out. I read a lot of positive reviews so I thought this would work. I added this to my deep conditioner and let it set for 35 minutes. I washed it out and even put some in my purple shampoo and let that sit for 10 minutes. I rinsed my hair, dried it, and I am still left with copper hair!"
0 of 3 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
See Comments (1)
Comments (1)
Customer Avatar
nanner
Posted June 4, 2013
color will not lift out previous color.
you need bleach in order to get unwanted color out.
Comments (1)
See Comments (1)
Review 3 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Miche
Location: Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Works very good!
Date:December 23, 2012
Pros: works very welll
"I do not regret buying this at all!!. I had red hair that i had dyed a darker brown color, and i used packets of these a couple at a time, to help get rid of more red from my dark brown hair and they worked wonderfully as a hair color add in, and also when mixed with regular shampoo they also work. It turns hairdye and shampoo when used together a very scary ashy grey color, BUT, do not be afraid of that, because it works and does not turn your hair grey at all. You will love the results!!. I highly recommend a as a booster for haircolor to help get rid of more unwanted red tones!!!."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 4 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
kate911
Dont buy this product!
Date:September 21, 2012
"I WAS INFORMED IT WOULD HELP PULL THE RED OUT IN MY HAIR. AFTER APPLYING THE UNRED AS DIRECTED MY HAIR IS NOW MORE RED THAN BEFORE. COMPLETELY UNSATISFIED!!!!! WOULD NOT TELL ANYONE WHO DOESNT WANT A RED TINT TO HER HAIR TO USE THIS PRODUCT, EVER!"
0 of 2 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 5 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
MaurMaur
Location: PA
works great
Date:September 12, 2012
Pros: eliminates brassiness
Cons: turns hair formula scary colors
"i was terrified when this stuff turned my hair color formlua squid ink black, and stayed black when i put it on my hair. but it washed out and i was left with my beautiful blonde again, with no brassiness! i think this stuff worked better for me than the red/gold corrector, so i will still with this to prevent/correct brassiness. it even helped take care of a little leftover brassiness from my previous colorings. don't let the darkness of this product scare you, it will wash out."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 6 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
PrincessRachel
Location: FL
Date:August 12, 2012
Cons: unpredictable
"I had so many ups & downs with this product.
I was going from red to blonde and figured this was a must have after the first bleaching made my hair pink.
The first time I used it, I mixed it in my bleach. The directions say to use it in hair color, but after a little research, I found out a lot of people use it in their bleach too. The bleach worked just a tad bit better with the UnRed than without.
The second time, I had read that mixing it with a deep conditioner can also tone your hair. So I did that and let it sit for 10 minutes. It did absolutely nothing.
The third time, I had mixed it with a toning shampoo and let it sit in my hair for a couple minutes. This worked pretty well and I did it a couple times.
The fourth, oh the fourth. I mixed it in with my hair dye. By this point, I had just a tiny bit of pink in my hair that I figured I could dye over. Well my hair didn't take the dye, but the UnRed worked amazing! So the second time I tried to dye my hair, I also mixed in the UnRed, because I had still just the slightest bit. It dyed my hair GRAY! A hideous, gray blonde color that I can't even put into words.
So basically, you just have to play around with this to see what your best bet would be. Buy a couple packets because there's just a few drops in each. And it's TAR black. It's nerve wrecking. It stained my hands for a day and stained my shower curtain, shower, etc."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 7 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Krisisadork
Location: MI
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Okay, but stained
Date:August 12, 2012
Pros: works well when dying hair darker, lightens red tones
Cons: stained my hair
"I used to dye my hair red, and I've used this product a few times when I've died my hair dark brown. It does tone down the red in my hair a bit, but the only problem is that, this past time I used it, it appeared to stain my hair. I was trying to go from a 2n to a 4n, so I used 30 developer, Ion 4n liquid hair color and UnRed. I've never had a problem going a few shades of brown lighter with 30 developer in the past, but I have noticed red undertones when I do this so I wanted to try it with UnRed. This time, my hair actually came out DARKER than it was before I dyed it. It's never happened before, so I was a little put off. It did conceal the red, I just wasn't able to get the color I wanted. I will continue to use it when I darken my hair, but I probably won't add it the next time I want it a few shades lighter."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 8 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Nanaboo
Location: Nicevile, Florida
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great item
Date:August 6, 2012
"I have been using this product for about 3-4 years. I have naturally light brown and blonde hair that has gone over half gray. I started using this product every other time I colored my hair to get all the red out. The first time I used it I held my breath becuase it turned my 10N blonde mixture black. I used it and my hair came out great., no orangy spots! I found if I only use it every other touch up it still works great! I love this product and I used it with the 10 minute fast color product with both ION and Clairol color cremes."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 9 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
aliegator
Location: Winnipeg, MB.
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Great product.
Date:June 24, 2012
Pros: works well, super cheap
Cons: black colour mixing into dye
"I had been dying my hair red for around 3 months and wanted to go back to brown. I tried dying my hair various shades from medium brown to dark brown and found each time my colour would fade fast or turn into a brassy orangish reddish colour from having red undertones in my hair from the previous red hair dye. I decided to give this product a try, I mixed it into my mix of "darkest brown" and "dark brown" from the ion brilliance colours. At first it was very scary mixing UnRed in because it was completely tar black and was very scared my dye had turned black but realized it was just the packet turning it black. It really did take away all red undertones in my hair and now I have the perfect colour i've been dying to reach."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 10 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
diamonddi
Location: NC
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
STOP
Date:February 22, 2012
Pros: none
Cons: turns blonde color grey
"STOP don't use this if you are coloring your hair blonde! I double process my hair and was dyeing my hair light golden blonde. I added this product to my color and my hair came out dingy grey with a pink hue! I have used this once in the past and my hair came out dingy grey with a green hue. I was using a light blonde neutral shade. I thought it was something I must have done wrong but now I see it was not me!! I followed the package directions each time. Do not use this in your color! Unless you want dingy grey hair."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 11 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
FAWNSTEVE
Location: Canada
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Works great, used correctly
Date:December 2, 2011
"Can be used to tone orange or apricot tones out of bleacehed hair very well.
I usually use two packs to a level 9 or 10 ash blonde demi.
Add two packs with double developer, process 15 mins, then add water/leavin and work through ends for ten mins.
Works fantastic on hair that just won't lift to yellow from gold without major damage.
Helps achieve a very nice natural ash/beige.
Also useful between touchups, or at touchup to refresh/
"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 12 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Beckiloo
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
It works
Date:October 10, 2011
Pros: removes the red
Cons: turned hair a slight green tint with light ash dye
"I had been dying my long semi-thick brown hair black for almost 2 years and decided it was time to lighten up. I stripped my hair down to an orangy/yellow - absolutely horrendous! I tried dying it with a light ash blonde and it didn't take. I tried using a couple of drops of this product in my shampoo and I immediately noticed a difference. I only left it in for about 5 minutes and there was still some orange left. I then proceeded to try to color my hair again, this time using a pre-treament prior. I added an entire packet of the Unred to my dye and left it in for 25 minutes. It worked GREAT! However, as the day is going on, I'm noticing that it turned a little green. I'm hoping it will fade out, if not, I'm going to try a warmer color to counteract the ashy green tone. As the other's have posted - this product is black and will darken your dye. It washes out and removes the red tones!."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 13 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
mommapray
Location: New Mexico
Wish I had known about this sooner
Date:September 28, 2011
Pros: takes out years of red
"Unred is amazing!
I was dying my hair red for about a year and wanted to go medium-dark brown. Well, in doing so, my hair still stayed very red (mostly because I was using a red based dye). I wish I had known about this stuff sooner, as I would have used it with the brown dye I went with for the past year.
But using Unred the first time around, I was trying to go back to my natural color (medium ash blonde). While the color remover I used didnt work as well as I had hoped, mixing the Unred with a light ash blonde (level 8) made my hair a really pretty medium brown without all the red.
While I didnt accomplish the color I was going for, I certainly like my color better now without all the red in it. There are still some hints of red, but considering how hard red is to get out, especially after several years of dying it, I was very impressed with this product.
I read a lot of mixed reviews about this product and after I decided to use it anyway, the color I purchased to go with it I got 2 levels lighter than what I was accomplishing. If you follow the directions for this product, your hair will not turn out black as night. It did alarm me after adding the product to my color as the product itself is black, you just have to have common sense in using this. Its a color additive/filler, which obviously means you need to adjust the color you mix with it. Like I said, I was trying to accomplish a level 6 or so blonde and the color I purchased was a level 8. If I had used a different color remover or even bleach, my hair would have turned out much lighter. But regardless, it was certainly less red."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 14 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
DMarie
Location: Buffalo,NY
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Can You Say Gray!!!
Date:September 28, 2011
Pros: cheap
Cons: made my hair gray.
"I will never buy this product again it clearly states that it's useable with any dye doesn't give you color restrictions well it should because it turned my blonde hair gray. I followed instruction to a t there not hard to understand so it wasn't my lack of knowledge that caused this. I had previously bleached my hair about a month ago or so & wanted to dye it one shade to get rid of some of the orangish tones in certain areas so this seemed like this would be a great product to keep those tone from coming through the dye well I was seriously wrong cause as I already said I ended up with a gray tone to my whole head I tried to shampoo it out and it wouldn't come out the gray tint wouldn't go away I ended up having to dry it go out & buy more dye & redye it even after I redyed it there is still a slight gray tint to my hair not happy with this product @ all & now my hair is horribly dry & damaged because I had to dye it twice in such a short period of time."
0 of 1 people found this review helpful.
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 15 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
4 out of 5
4 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
LecE
It DOES work
Date:September 27, 2011
Pros: gets rid of the red
Cons: darkens light colors, scary black color
"I bought this because after stripping my hair (it was dark brownish red) I wanted to make sure I got the red tint out. I tend to have that happen with every color I use, and after all the great reviews I decided to try it. However, it didn't work a well as I had hoped. The red tint is gone, but the blonde I used ended up being 2 shades darker than it was intended. I did use the whole packet and am unsure if that was a factor, but I think this product works better for darker hair as opposed to light blonde."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 16 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Willow68
Location: Killeen, Texas
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Not A Good Buy
Date:September 4, 2011
Pros: got rid of some dye, doesn't smell
Cons: very messy, doesn't get rid of all dye
"After reading reviews about this product I expected it to work really well. Sadly, it worked very little. I used this product to get rid of some left over red hair dye and unfortunately it did not get rid of all of it like I hoped. However, it did get rid of some of it so I'm not completely disappointed. It still wasn't a very good buy though. I probably won't be using this again. Also, although it does look black it will not make your hair turn black as long as you use a dye afterwards."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 17 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
Meets Expectations
1 out of 5
1 out of 5
echo
I look like elvira!
Date:July 20, 2011
"DO NOT BUY THIS!!! I bought this based on reviews saying that yes the color is frightening but it will not dye your hair black...But it dyed my hair very black...so black that there is not a single highlight and now it looks like I'm wearing a bad black wig. I would not suggest to anyone that they buy this horrible product!!"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 18 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
NYFoxyLoxy
Location: NY
THANK YOU!
Date:May 28, 2011
Pros: really unreds, cheap, easy to use, easy to open
"You have no idea how thankful I am for this product! After stripping color, I turned pumpkin red. It was embarrassing. I wasn't gonna go outside like that - but thank God for 3 day weekend) I didn't care about the lift anymore, but I needed to change the color "family". I have tried Ardell Red Gold Corrector Plus and it did nothing. This was my last hope before dying my hair back to dark brown - I am glad I gave it a shot! The hair came out beautiful, just a shade darker than I anticipated (I was shooting for level 7, but came out as 8), but it's ok - I DO NOT have that horrible pumpkin color any more! What a load off my mind))))) And use right dye! If you're trying to get the red out, don't buy gold blond, or warm brown, you know?
The color kind of messes with you, because you think - oh, it looks so dark, I should wash the dye off - don't! Wait the amount of time your dye manufacturer told you and you'll be fine. I think I know why hair comes out a bit darker. For instance - the dye I used, asked for 25 minutes. Unred calls for 20 minutes. Maybe the extra 5 minutes makes everything darker? But honestly - I don't care) Gave me beautiful no red color, that a) I actually look good in, b) I actually like it, and c) I can work with towards my originally desired color, which is just a higher lift, but in the same column) Once again, thanks for this product! I wish I knew about it before)"
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 19 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Value For Price
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Meets Expectations
5 out of 5
5 out of 5
Hughese
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? No
Excellent!
Date:May 19, 2011
Pros: actually works!, did not make hair too ashy
Cons: color may be frightening, darkened hair dye a shade too dark
"I have fine/thin, shoulder length, naturally ash blonde hair. I've been dying my hair light/medium auburn for short of a year and I have completely been fed up with trying to maintain the red color, so I decided to go back to blonde.
I've used other packs similar to this one to combat brassiness but to no avail. I have used only blonde hair dye for months and my hair is STILL red! (I am a hair dying novice)
I am fresh out of college and I know that I cannot afford a professional to fix my hair, so finally, I decided to give this a try without reading any reviews and tada - there is absolutely NO red in my hair right now!
I did this:
Mixed 1/2 of the packet into my prepared hair dye (nice and easy medium ash blonde). Rather than leaving the dye on for the recommended 25 minutes, I left it on for 40-45 just to be safe because I'm tired of wasting money. The unred worked perfectly! I was so certain that I would be disappointed again and I was not at all. This product worked for me after nothing else did.
This WILL make your hair dye about a shade darker than the advertised color on the bottle, so buy a shade lighter than you normally would. Unred will also terrify you because it looks black, but rest assured that it will not dye your hair black - only darken it a shade.
Overall, I strongly recommend this to anyone who has been fed up trying to remove red from his or her hair - not brassiness, but red/orange tones. At least give this a go before spending tons of cash at the salon."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
Review 20 for Unred Hair Color Drabber
Overall
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
Value For Price
3 out of 5
3 out of 5
Meets Expectations
2 out of 5
2 out of 5
MrsWWP
Location: California
Is the reviewer a Salon Professional? Yes
Barely worked
Date:April 19, 2011
"First do not be shocked by the color. It will turn your hair color black but that is not your color results.
I was adjusting brown hair that had some red/orange in it. This did very little to take out the red even when used with an ash."
Thank you! You have successfully submitted a comment for this review.
1 2 next>>